Prof Gabrielle Cooper

Prof Gabrielle Cooper OAM - Chair


Prof Gabrielle Cooper was re-elected as a Primary Health Care Director on the Board in November 2013, and as Chair of the Board in November 2016.

Gabrielle is Professor of Pharmacy in the Faculty of Health at the University of Canberra having established the Discipline of Pharmacy in 2004. Gabrielle has extensive national and international experience in hospital pharmacy and her research interests include clinical toxicology, pharmacist and technician education, dementia care and communication between health care settings and providers. She is a member of the ACT Branch Committee of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia and a range of other professional committees with a focus on optimal medication management and improved communication between consumers and care providers.

Dr Martin Liedvogel

Dr Martin Liedvogel


Dr Martin Liedvogel was elected as a General Practice Director on the Board in November 2013.

Martin has been the Practice Principal of Fisher Family Practice since 2006. Fisher Family Practice is a teaching practice for both registrars and medical students. Martin is a GP supervisor and medical educator with Coast City Country GP Training, with an interest in practice ownership/leadership. He is also a FRACGP examiner. Past experience includes Directorship of the General Practice Registrars Association, membership of the Royal Australian College of GP’s Standing Committee – GP Advocacy and Support, a lecturer position at the University of NSW’s School of Rural Health in Albury, Director training from the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and being the Medical Director at the Canberra Afterhours Locum Medical Service.

Dr Jeffrey Harmer AO

Dr Jeffrey Harmer AO

BA (Hons) (UNSW), Dip Ed (UNSW), PhD (UNSW), HonD (University of Canberra), FAIM, FIPPA, FANZSOG

Dr Jeffrey Harmer AO was co-opted to the Board in June 2013.

With a career in the public service spanning 33 years, Jeff has occupied a range of executive positions including Managing Director of the Health Insurance Commission, Secretary of the Department of Education, Science and Training, and Secretary of the Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs. In 2009, Jeff was voted the inaugural Australian Government Leader of the Year, and in 2010 he was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) in the Australia Day Honours List for the significant achievements in his public service career. Jeff holds a range of Board appointments with a number of not-for-profit organisations, was Chair of the Advisory Group for the Australian National Disability Insurance Scheme in the lead up to its introduction in July 2013, and is Co-Chair of the Ministerial Council on Child Care and Early Learning.

Dr Mel Deery

Dr Mel Deery


Dr Mel Deery was appointed to the Board in December 2017.

Along with her husband John, Mel is a GP and practice owner at YourGP.   She is passionate about developing YourGP to better fulfil the vision of ‘genuine care, clinical excellence’. 

She enjoys all areas of general practice with special interests in paediatrics, women’s health, pregnancy care and mental health.

Ms Roslyn Jackson

Ms Roslyn Jackson

Ms Roslyn Jackson was appointed to the Board in November 2015.

Ros is a Chartered Accountant with more than 20 years’ experience in both the public and private sectors, and in accounting related fields and educational services. Ros has been director of a number of companies and served on a number of audit committees.

Ms Darlene Cox

Ms Darlene Cox

Darlene Cox was appointed to fill a casual vacancy as a Consumer Director on the Board in August 2017.

Darlene has been involved in the consumer movement since the late 1990s. She is an eminent advocate for health consumers with an excellent knowledge of the health system, both locally and nationally. Darlene has a strong, practical understanding of community engagement principles. She has been the Executive Director of Health Care Consumers’ Association Incorporated since 2008. She is a board member of the Australia Council of Social Services. She is also a member of the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) Community Reference Group and the Choosing Wisely Advisory Group.


Matt Hughes

Mr Matt Hughes

Matt Hughes was appointed as a Board Director in May 2018.

In addition to his experience as a Registered Nurse, Matt has many years of commercial and operational expertise across multiple regions and sectors. Matt is the Executive General Manager Operations – Australia, Asia and Pacific for Aspen Medical Canberra where he is responsible for the Group’s operations and subsidiary companies within this region. He is also an experienced Director who currently has three Board appointments with companies that deliver a Commonwealth-funded program supporting health delivery across rural and remote Australia; manufacture deployable and modular health facilities; and provide comprehensive health care services across Papua New Guinea.